The History sidebar records the tools and actions used to create your model. You can use it to revisit and edit previous steps, manage your design history, filter steps, and merge them when needed.
What is the History sidebar?
The History sidebar provides a timeline of the modeling steps in your design. Each step represents a recorded feature or action that you can revisit to review or modify its available parameters.
Explore the History sidebar
To show or hide the History sidebar, select History .
The History sidebar lists the steps used to create your model. Select a step to access its available parameters and settings.
Explore the History sidebar
You can revisit previous modeling operations and modify their parameters using Parameter Cards in the modeling space.
To edit a previous step:
- Open the History sidebar.
- Select the step you want to edit.
- Use the Parameter Card in the modeling space to review or modify the available parameters.
- To finish, click or tap anywhere in the modeling space.
Changes to an earlier step can affect subsequent operations in your model.
For more information about working with parameters, visit Parameter Cards.
History step settings
Each History step has additional options for managing your design. Hover over a step and select the three-dot menu to access its settings.
|
Filter History steps
As your design becomes more complex, you can filter the History sidebar to find steps associated with specific items in your model. You can filter steps by isolated items or by your current selection.
Filter by isolated items
When you isolate items in your model, the History sidebar automatically displays only the steps relevant to those items.
To filter by isolated items:
- Select the items you want to isolate.
- Turn on Isolate mode to display the History steps associated with the isolated items.
Filter by selection
You can filter History steps based on your current selection. Select an item in your model to display the steps relevant to it in the History sidebar.
Merge History steps
You can use Merge to combine your modeling history into a single state and remove the previous steps.
When you merge History steps:
- Sketches are unlinked from their associated bodies.
- All previous steps are combined, and the steps before and after the breakpoint are deleted.
- You can choose to keep or delete sketches.
- You can choose to keep or delete variables.
Important
You cannot recover merged History steps once you quit your project.
To merge History steps:
- Open the History sidebar.
- From the History sidebar, select History.
- Choose what to keep or delete when merging:
- Delete Sketches – Deletes sketches after merging.
- Keep Sketches – Keeps sketches after merging.
- Delete Variables – Deletes variables after merging.
- Keep Variables – Keeps variables after merging.
-
To finish, select Merge.
Read more
To learn how to access and adjust tool settings directly in the modeling space, visit Parameter Cards.